Home arrow Community arrow Government Agencies
Government Agencies
Nicholas County

county logo

    Nicholas County , with a population of 26,337, is the 24th largest county in West Virginia. The City of Summersville, with a population of 3,200, is the county seat and largest municipality in Nicholas County.     In recent years the Nicholas County area has experienced substantial growth in the retail sector in the Summersville community as well as the creation of new jobs in wood products manufacturing and teleservices. 




New River Gorge Regional Development Authority

 The New River Gorge Regional Development Authority (NRGRDA) is the Economic Development Authority for the New River Gorge Region of West Virginia, a long-standing collaboration between the City of Beckley and the Commissions of Fayette , Nicholas, Raleigh , and Summers County . The mission of the New River Gorge Regional Development Authority is to initiate, facilitate and support the economic development efforts of its members.

New River Gorge Regional Development Authority
North Heber Street, Suite B
Beckley, WV 25801
Mountain Transit Authority

 Transportation is provided to Summersville, Fayetteville , Lewisburg , Richwood . Webster Springs, and other communities.  Mountain Transit Authority (MTA) provides a route-deviated service as far as 3/4 of a mile off of the regular route for any passenger when requested in advance.  Featuring "Call A Ride": Anywhere to Anywhere in Summersville and non-emergency medical transportation from Nicholas County to anywhere in West Virginia.